46 CFR (Shipping)



Title 46 is the portion of the Code of Federal Regulations that governs shipping within the United States for the United States Coast Guard, the United States Maritime Administration, and the United States Maritime Commission.

Title 46 and Title 33 of the Code of Federal Regulations are usually consulted by Classification societies, engineering firms, deck officers on oceangoing vessels, and marine engineers.

46 CFR is divided into four chapters:

  • Chapter I — United States Coast Guard
  • Chapter II — United States Maritime Administration
  • Chapter III — United States Coast Guard (Great Lakes Pilotage)
  • Chapter IV — United States Maritime Commission

The CFR or Code of Federal Regulations was originally authorized by President Franklin D. Roosevelt on October 11, 1938, as a means to organize and maintain the growing material published by federal agencies in the newly mandated Federal Register. The first volume of the CFR was published in 1939 with general applicability and legal effect in force on June 1, 1938.  The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) began publishing yearly revisions for some titles in 1963 with legal effective dates of January 1 each year. By 1967 all 50 titles were updated annually.

Additional information


2018, 2019, 2020


Complete Set, Parts 1-40, Parts 41-69, Parts 70-89, Parts 90-139, Parts 140-155, Parts 156-165, Parts 166-199, Parts 200-499, Parts 500-End


Print Edition