12 CFR (Banks and Banking)



Title 12 of the Code of Federal Regulations (12 CFR), titled Banks and Banking, is a United States federal government regulation. The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government produced by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office.

12 CFR comprises ten volumes, and further divided into 18 chapters.

Volume Chapter Parts Regulatory Entity
1 I 1-199 Controller of the Currency, Department of the Treasury
2 II 200-219 Federal Reserve System
3 220-229 Federal Reserve System
4 230-299 Federal Reserve System
5 III 300-399 Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
IV 400-499 Export-Import Bank of the United States
6 V 500-599 Office of Thrift Supervision, Department of the Treasury
7 VI 600-699 Farm Credit Administration
VII 700-799 National Credit Union Administration
VIII 800-899 Federal Financing Bank
8 IX 900-999 Federal Housing Finance Board
X 1000-1025 Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection
9 1026-1099 Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection
10 XI 1100-1199 Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council
XII 1200-1299 Federal Housing Finance Agency
XIII 1300-1399 Financial Stability Oversight Council
XIV 1400-1499 Farm Credit System Insurance Corporation
XV 1500-1599 Department of the Treasury
XVI 1600-1699 Office of Financial Research
XVII 1700-1799 Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight, Department of Housing and Urban Development
XVIII 1800-1899 Community Development Financial Institutions Fund, Department of the Treasury

The CFR or Code of Federal Regulations was originally authorized by President Franklin D. Roosevelt on October 11, 1938, as a means to organize and maintain the growing material published by federal agencies in the newly mandated Federal Register. The first volume of the CFR was published in 1939 with general applicability and legal effect in force on June 1, 1938.  The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) began publishing yearly revisions for some titles in 1963 with legal effective dates of January 1 each year. By 1967 all 50 titles were updated annually.

Additional information


2017, 2018, 2019, 2020


Complete Set, Parts 1-199, Parts 200-219, Parts 220-299, Parts 300-346, Parts 347-599, Parts 600-899, Parts 900-END


Print Edition